top of page

Spice Blend ~ Six Tastes

The six tastes (sweet, sour, salty, pungent, bitter, and astringent) are present in all the foods, herbs, spices, and beverages. They are introduced to the body through the taste buds which stimulate the digestive, assimilation, and elimination processes nourishing the body, mind, and soul.

It is believed that a complete meal includes all six of these tastes and can be achieved by proper food combining, spices, herbs, and supplements. Furthermore, the six tastes satisfy the dietary building blocks for the body, for example; sweet foods are rich in fats, proteins, carbohydrates, and water, whereas bitter and astringent foods are high in vitamins and minerals.

Below is a spice blend that has all six tastes and is tri-doshic, balancing for all three doshas.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page